web
You’re offline. This is a read only version of the page.
close
Skip to main content

Announcements

News and Announcements icon
Community site session details

Community site session details

Session Id :
Power Platform Community / Forums / Power Apps / Azure Synapse Link for...
Power Apps
Answered

Azure Synapse Link for Dataverse - how to remove the link (Linked to D365 FNO) and retain the Azure Datalake and workspace

(0) ShareShare
ReportReport
Posted on by 2

Hi.  I am new to Powerapps/Dataverse (and Azure Synapse/DL) and have successfully set up an Asure Synapse Link for Dataverse which is linked to MS D365 FNO (Append only).  This is actively syncing.  We have set this up to export our D365 FNO data to Azure because we are sunsetting our D365 environment and shutting it off in a few months.  We will have all of the data we need to retain soon, and just want to basically unlink the Dataverse from synapse and retain the Datalake and Synapse workspace for historic reporting purposes.  It appears that the only unlinking option is to delete the entire container from Azure (snip below).  In reading documentation (and watching videos), it stated that there was an option to unlink and retain the Datalake/workspace, but on the unlink screen be there is no such option.  We would possibly consider just leave it syncing until the D365 environment is shut off, but we are not confident that the DL and Synapse workspace will NOT be deleted as well.

 

1.  How do I unlink the Dataverse and maintain the exported data in Azure DL? 

 

2.  I leave this actively syncing and we shut down the D365 environment, what will happen?  Will it remove the container and workspace anyway?  It seems possible given that below is the only option. 

 

Any help is appreciated.

 

RJR_2-1711030890459.png

RJR_3-1711031028650.png

 

 

 

I have the same question (0)
  • Verified answer
    AllanDeCastro Profile Picture
    412 Most Valuable Professional on at

    Hello,

    I do not think that there is an option to unlink while keeping the file system on the storage account:

    AllanDeCastro_0-1711208881312.png


    But, you can maybe try to move the file from the blob to another one once the replication is done and to ensure you will not lose the data.


Under review

Thank you for your reply! To ensure a great experience for everyone, your content is awaiting approval by our Community Managers. Please check back later.

Helpful resources

Quick Links

Season of Sharing Community Challenge Winners!

Congratulations to our community stars!

Kudos to our 2025 Community Spotlight Honorees

Expanding mentorship, skilling, and AI innovation

Congratulations to the July Top 10 Community Leaders!

These are the community rock stars!

Leaderboard > Power Apps

#1
WarrenBelz Profile Picture

WarrenBelz 358 Most Valuable Professional

#2
11manish Profile Picture

11manish 214 Super User 2026 Season 2

#3
Mohsin Ali Profile Picture

Mohsin Ali 185

Last 30 days Overall leaderboard