This worked for me. I am a Global Admin so not sure if this would be a limited function for other user roles. In the interest of transparency, I did discover this quite accidentally.
Version History
View

Edit (my edit button is grayed out because I have already done this step)

Delete "Pending" from Sign Off status
Save

You will then have a new version with no approval request.
