Skip to main content

Notifications

Microsoft Dataverse
Unanswered

Field Translations

Posted on by 52
Greetings,

I am a Power Platform developer that often does work for the Canadian Federal Government ( where multilingual solutions are a must ).

My solutions almost always leverage Dataverse and almost always use lookups and lookup tables vs Choices for storing categorical data. Within these lookup tables we store both English and French name values - we prefer the flexibility of lookups vs choices as you can add more columns as needed. A typical Lookup table would look something like this:
Table Guid Name EN (*Primary Column ) Name FR Description EN Description FR Sort Order Number Status

As we all know, the out-of-the-box model-driven views and forms will always display the primary column of the related table within a lookup. Yes I know you can leverage java script to change the display field for a lookup within a form, but within a view this is not possible ( there are no event handlers for views to change it's appearance when the view loads ).

Which brings me to Field Translations.

Dataverse has an option under Advanced Settings> Data Management > Export Field Translations. This utility provides ( from what I can tell ) the ability to translate values within a field to as many different languages as needed ( whatever languages you enable under Settings>Languages ).  However, no custom fields I create are ever available in this utility. The only entities that show up in the exported xml file for me are AppConfigMaster, Organization & SavedOrgInsightsConfiguration.

On further inspection of the API column definition for any of my custom columns, I noticed my columns have a property called "IsLocalizable" and it is always set to "false":