Skip to main content

Notifications

Power Platform Community / Forums / Building Power Apps / Power App DataCards Co...
Building Power Apps
Answered

Power App DataCards Combo Box or Drop Down

Posted on by 19
Hi All...newbie here.  I have a Power App, with data source as an SP List, where the P-app gallery shows a selected list row's items and the corresponding form also shows the selected list row's items via corresponding DataCards using "Parent.Default".

I'd like a few of the form's Data Cards to continue to show the SP List row's field when it is selected in the gallery, but I also want users to be able to have a "drop down" selector for that field that presents the set of items already populated in that field for all gallery row entries (e.g., drop-down with; item a, item b, item c, etc.), so they can pick a pre-loaded option entry OR enter a new entry, that would get saved back as an addition drop down list item for the updated drop down list.

I've looked at the Combo Box and Drop Down functions, but they seem to work independent of existing DataCards.  Any guidance on how to pursue this would be highly appreciated.

Thanks!
  • Verified answer
    ksdst1 Profile Picture
    ksdst1 19 on at
    Tnx all for the comments.  I was missing a lot.  First I changed the SP list column type to Choice.  That presented the data in the combo box drop down.  To get the current field name of the currently selected record, I set DefaultSelectedItems = fx {Value:GalleryName.Selected.FieldName.
  • Suggested answer
    markperrah Profile Picture
    markperrah 24 on at
    ComboBox allows for user entry.

for the defaultselecteditems:
    First(Distinct(mySample, Name))

this will default display the first item in the source (mySample)
  • ksdst1 Profile Picture
    ksdst1 19 on at
    Tnx for the response.